Email: btc@luther.co.uk

All Party Parliamentary Group for Brain Tumours


The Brain Tumour Consortium works closely with the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Brain Tumours.


The Brain Tumour All Party Parliamentary Group was established on 11th July 2005 by John Bercow and has been chaired by James Arbuthnot MP since December 2009. The APPG supports our efforts and we are working together to make a difference for everyone affected by a brain tumour.


The purpose of the APPG is to raise awareness of the issues facing the brain tumour community in order to improve research, diagnosis, information, support, treatment and care outcomes.


Officers

Chair, James Arbuthnot (Con)

Click here to view Biography


James Arbuthnot has been an MP for over 20 years, representing North East Hampshire since 1997. 
Chairman of the All Party Group on Brain Tumours, James brings his deep experience of working in Parliament to bear on the workings of the Group. He was moved to become a member of the Group after the sad loss of Samantha Dickson whose parents, Neil and Angela, live in his constituency and brought the issue to his attention.   

 

 

 

 

Vice – Chair, Lord Carlile of Berriew  (LD)

Click here to view Biography

Lord Alex Carlile of Berriew is a practising barrister and former head of chambers of 9-12 Bell Yard, a leading set of barrister's chambers.  He successfully defended Diana, Princess of Wales' butler, Paul Burrell, against charges that Burrell had stolen some of her estate's belongings. 

Alex became involved with the cause of brain tumours as a result of his acquaintance with Kathy Oliver and her family. Kathy is Co-Director of the International Brain Tumour Alliance (IBTA), a not-for-profit advocacy and awareness-raising organisation she helped to establish in 2005. Kathy’s son Colin was diagnosed with a brain tumour in 2004 at age 24 and tragically passed away in August 2011. She says Colin is the inspiration behind her involvement with the International Brain Tumour Alliance. Kathy cites the "incredible courage, determination and fortitude" of her son as the driving force in her work for the IBTA.

Vice – Chair & Secretary Kevin Brennan (Lab)

Click here to view Biography


Kevin Brennan was elected to Parliament in June 2001, succeeding the Rt Hon Rhodri Morgan who had represented Cardiff West since June 1987.

He is an active member of the brain tumour All Party Parliamentary Group and became engaged with the group having heard the story of one of his constituents - Holly Timbrell, a teenager, who was diagnosed in 2009 and has undergone several operations and now lives between three monthly scans.  She and her mother Karen are active fundraisers for Brain Tumour Research and promote awareness through their local media.


Twenty Qualifying Members

Government Party
Tony Baldry (Con) http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/tony-baldry/25155
Richard Harrington (Con) http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/richard-harrington/78037
Andrew Selous (Con) http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/andrew-selous/25301
Ian Liddell-Grainger (Con) http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/ian-liddell-grainger/25472
Oliver Heald (Con) http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/oliver-heald/25566
Lord Colwyn (Con) http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/ian-hamilton-smith/26739
Annette Brooke (LD) http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/annette-brooke/25778
Baroness Tonge  (LD) http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/jennifer-tonge/25281

 

Main Opposition Party

Stephen Twigg http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/stephen-twigg/25294
Fabian Hamilton http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/fabian-hamilton/25563
John Robertson http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/john-robertson/25349
Kelvin Hopkins http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/kelvin-hopkins/25583
Stephen Pound http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/stephen-pound/25409
Sharon Hodgson http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/sharon-hodgson/35910
Jon Trickett http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/jon-trickett/25290
Baroness Wilkins http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/rosalie-wilkins/26629
Lord Harris of Haringey http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/jonathan-harris/26846

 

The Brain Tumour All Party Parliamentary Group also has ongoing support from the following Members of Parliament
Click here to download

 

Last AGM – 18 July 2011

Benefits received by group from sources outside Parliament - Brain Tumour Research acts as the group’s secretariat

 

 

 

 

BRAIN TUMOUR RESEARCHBRAIN TUMOUR UKINTERNATIONAL BRAIN TUMOUR ALLIANCE

 

THE BRAIN TUMOUR CONSORTIUM 2011